You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PICTURES: Thousands take to the streets of London for Million Mask March

There were restrictions on the demonstrations over fears of violence.

Anonymous Million Mask March Protestors demonstrate in Parliament Square, London, during the Million Mask March bonfire night protest organised by activist group Anonymous. David Mirzoeff / PA Wire David Mirzoeff / PA Wire / PA Wire

THOUSANDS OF MASKED demonstrators took to the streets of London yesterday evening as part of the annual Million Mask March.

There was a large police presence around Trafalgar Square as demonstrators in trademark Guy Fawkes masks gathered for the annual protest.

Anonymous Million Mask March David Mirzoeff David Mirzoeff

Violence broke out during the march last year, with police this year imposing stricter conditions on the demonstration – including a 9pm curfew.

The gathering is organised by supporters of the Anonymous collective.

It is in opposition to austerity, official corruption, the erosion of civil liberties and other causes.

Anonymous Million Mask March David Mirzoeff / PA Wire David Mirzoeff / PA Wire / PA Wire

The BBC reports that 53 people were arrested during the march yesterday.

Police said these arrests are in connection with drugs, offensive weapons, criminal damage and public order and obstruction offences.

Anonymous Million Mask March David Mirzoeff / PA Wire David Mirzoeff / PA Wire / PA Wire

While there were some isolated incident of disorder, Met Police said the march had passed off peacefully overall.

Commander Ben-Julian Harrington of the Met said:

“I would like to commend my officers policing this challenging event for their professionalism and faultless co-ordination

I would also like to thank those participants who conducted themselves in a peaceful manner as well as Londoners and those visiting our city for their patience and tolerance.

Read: How to win the US election? Here is the maths you need to know

Read: Nigel Farage issues Brexit warning: “I’ve seen the Irish forced to vote again”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute Chris Linehan
    Favourite Chris Linehan
    Nov 28th 2019, 12:14 PM

Jaysus, isn’t he just great altogether. But don’t listen to me, just read what he’s written about himself above.

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Nov 28th 2019, 12:26 PM

@Chris Linehan: eh he did several tours of the Leb, he’s got bigger balls than you

Mute Chris Linehan
    Favourite Chris Linehan
    Nov 28th 2019, 12:49 PM

@Inanimate Carbon Rod: By the sounds of it, you’ve had quite a good close up of those balls of his. To be clear, I wasn’t trying to undermine or disrespect his service or the research he did, but you can’t deny he paints a very good picture of himself as the embodiment of a professional, intellectual amd ethical officer.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:02 PM

@Chris Linehan: he is all those things you mentioned. Your problem is?

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:10 PM

@Chris Linehan: why wouldn’t he paint that picture of Himself?, wasn’t it He who did the research, and done the interviews and gathered all the information required to complete the story. They did not know what would be uncovered, that is why they key him continue, but then when the whole thing came together it was not acceptable . It would destroy the Organisation, so try and discredit him and his research. Fair play to him, it is probably a better place to work now.

Mute Chris Linehan
    Favourite Chris Linehan
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:13 PM

@EillieEs: Maybe he is all of those things. I myself am highly professional, an intellectual among my peers and have actually written the ethical standards which my chosen industry upholds. I’m also humble and so wouldn’t tell people those things about myself.

Mute Hanzee
    Favourite Hanzee
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:21 PM

@Chris Linehan: they’ll write songs about you.

Mute Chris Linehan
    Favourite Chris Linehan
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:25 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: My comment had nothing to with his research or service. Fair play to him for both.

Mute Chris Linehan
    Favourite Chris Linehan
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:26 PM

@Hanzee: No need. I’ll write my own songs about myself.

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:28 PM

@Chris Linehan: Sounds a lot like jealously to me Chris . Only a small minded man would belittle this man ‘s actions at great personal sacrifices to himself and his family . He has gone above and beyond to serve his country and made a huge difference to the defense forces in Ireland .

Mute Chris Linehan
    Favourite Chris Linehan
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:34 PM

@Mary Mc Carthy: Who belittled his actions? Like i said twice, his service and research are to be commended. I was making light of his ‘farts don’t stink’ opinion of himself.

Mute John Tobin
    Favourite John Tobin
    Nov 28th 2019, 3:50 PM

@Chris Linehan: and rightly so he did the research and the hard work with drive, conviction and immense respect for his position and that of his colleagues. He is only getting what was long overdue for him.
    The other uninformed services could take advice from this.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 6:58 PM

@Chris Linehan: ‘cept a humble person doesnt tell anyone that they are.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 7:02 PM

@Chris Linehan: why cant u just be happy for someone who has endured so much both professional y & personally that he has come thru the other side ? Gives hope to us all

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 7:03 PM

@Chris Linehan: u were saying about humility?

Mute Neil Ryan
    Favourite Neil Ryan
    Nov 28th 2019, 8:04 PM

@Chris Linehan: would you get the massive chip on your shoulder looked into Chris, good man.

Mute Chris Linehan
    Favourite Chris Linehan
    Nov 28th 2019, 8:37 PM

@Neil Ryan: what chip is that exactly? I made a quip about the clearly cocky tone of the article, as others did. The Journal melts interpreted that as an attack on his research and military service.

Mute Chris Linehan
    Favourite Chris Linehan
    Nov 28th 2019, 8:38 PM

@eileen boles: that was my point.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 9:17 PM

@Chris Linehan: come again?

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Nov 29th 2019, 8:12 AM

@Inanimate Carbon Rod: something tells me chris or someine close may have too….He was a brave man,forced to stand up for those women, force by what he heard,and unable to follow orders to bury it ….wouldnt Collins be disgusted with those officers….

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Nov 29th 2019, 8:13 AM

@Chris Linehan: yes you were,now grow a pair and expand as to why….!

Mute Dino
    Favourite Dino
    Nov 29th 2019, 8:26 AM

@Chris Linehan: did you have your life and character destroyed fior trying the truth that would eventually lead to transformational changes in the industry you worked? His sacrifice has led two better lives for thousands in his old work place and this sacrifice is finally being acknowledged yet you want to belittle him?

Mute Kevin Barry
    Favourite Kevin Barry
    Nov 28th 2019, 12:41 PM

I have experience as a contract employee of several and diverse branches of the public service.
    The service is riven with political patronage and the basic philosophy prevailing on matters of right and wrong is “don’t rock the boat”

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Nov 28th 2019, 12:39 PM

that’s enough about me -let’s talk about you- what do you think about me ;-)

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:04 PM

@Dave Hammond: the article is about his experience as a whistleblower, why on earth would he talk about other issues?

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:17 PM

@EillieEs: lighten up Ellie

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 7:06 PM

@Dave Hammond: says a narcissist

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Nov 28th 2019, 11:09 PM

@Dave Hammond: ur a nonce?

Mute Paul O'Mahony (Cork)
    Favourite Paul O'Mahony (Cork)
    Nov 28th 2019, 12:42 PM

Magnificent telling of a terrible story that’s had magnificent ending recently. (I found it very moving) – Tom Clonan is a national Hero who deserves presidential honour

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Nov 28th 2019, 12:51 PM

@Paul O’Mahony (Cork): a presidential honour for doing his job? Whaaaaat??

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:30 PM

@Da Vid: Go back and read the story again and then you might just get it !

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Nov 28th 2019, 4:58 PM

@Da Vid: For doing his job? For being a brave whistle blower who forced others to do their jobs! He and people like him should be given a special pension for every year they were left out in the cold!

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 7:15 PM

@Da Vid: its grt to know that the auld begrudgery still alive & well for some wasnt just doin his job btw.

Mute Robert Byrne
    Favourite Robert Byrne
    Nov 28th 2019, 10:23 PM

@Paul O’Mahony (Cork): I don’t believe he did for glitzy awards, he did because it was the right thing to do. He took some amount of grief for doing so but stuck to his guns and was proven right for doing so.

Mute Dino
    Favourite Dino
    Nov 29th 2019, 8:34 AM

@Da Vid: doing his job? Her got ran out of the service for going above and beyond his job! He was attacked personally and professionally in a smear campaign as was his family in an attempt to discredit his research. He suffered all this why? Because he told the truth, was he the only one “doing his job” why was nobody else bringing this to national and international attention? Probably because they were looking after number 1 unlike Tom

Mute Perlum Sprite
    Favourite Perlum Sprite
    Nov 28th 2019, 12:22 PM

Probably not the ideal time to point out to a national security analyst, that a former Irish female soldier is due to return from Turkey in the next 24-72 hours and may well have passed information about our own armed forces to a terrorist organisation – something I think highly likely.

As for the content of the article, well I’m glad things have gone full circle for you. I bought your book when it came out initially. I’m also glad the military seems to have made substantial progress on equality and diversity.

Mute Ros Aodha
    Favourite Ros Aodha
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:26 PM

@Perlum Sprite: So long as she hasn’t told them that we are running at less than 90% of our required numbers, that we have very few mine proof, armoured vehicles, small numbers of aircraft, very tiny navy, no primary air search radar, no counter submarine capability, a handful of drones and thus a limited reconnaissance capability, one of the largest oceanic territories in north western EU and the smallest military budget in the EU, nor where the keys to the target shed are, im sure that we’ll be fine.

Mute Niall MacGainmhe
    Favourite Niall MacGainmhe
    Nov 28th 2019, 2:28 PM

@Ros Aodha: Well said.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 7:09 PM

@Perlum Sprite: im SO glad that u re glad

Mute Dino
    Favourite Dino
    Nov 29th 2019, 8:30 AM

@Perlum Sprite: what military secrets could she tell them about our armed forces? We are a neutral country so don’t need much of a seen armed presence

Mute DaMoons
    Favourite DaMoons
    Nov 28th 2019, 12:24 PM

Well done Tom. While I vehemently disagree with your pro NATO stance, I think your work on this issue deserves a lot of credit and admiration.

Mute Chemical Brothers
    Favourite Chemical Brothers
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:21 PM

Still very much ongoing Tom.

Irish Air Corps recently bullied a long serving whistle-blower out of the service. Same whistle-blower had highlighted the ongoing unprotected toxic chemical exposure of personnel including pregnant females. He should have received a medal but instead was vilified.

Not only does the Air Corps punish whistle-blowers but they also are ACTIVELY bullying personnel injured by chemical exposure and treating such sick personnel as malingerers.

Hopefully the Vice Admiral will acknowledge the contribution to chemical Health & Safety made by Air Corps whistle-blowers…if he’s allowed. :)

Mute Rob67
    Favourite Rob67
    Nov 28th 2019, 12:39 PM

While I had my reservations about the impact Tom’s report had on training recruits/ cadets, it is a harsh environment they are being trained for and harshness in training methodology needed to be exercised. The DF took it to heart and unfortunately it created other problems, some soldiers would complain about the simplest of commands given by an authority figure. It reduced effectiveness in a lot of case, as it meant that an NCO would have to institute disciplinary procedures against the individual instead of tearing them a new one there and then. Having said all that, it did remove the rampant bullying by certain personnel against those weaker members of the DF, who could then go on to become successful soldiers, sailors and air crew.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 7:19 PM

@Rob67: a good leader/manager can lead without humiliating people otherwise they shouldn’t be leading. Dont be making excuses for inexcusable behaviour.

Mute Rob67
    Favourite Rob67
    Nov 28th 2019, 8:23 PM

@eileen boles: if you read my point, I don’t condone bullying in any shape or form. However, a soldier will undergo stress at some point and it is important to push the recruit to a controlled limit to get them to work beyond their normal level, be stressed and still be able to function in a clear and consistent manner. That is what you get from good training. Bullying undermines the individual and therefore is not good ground to build someone up, which good training will do. I don’t know if you ever served, but if you did and had a bad experience as a result, I can only offer my support and understanding, I’ve been at the wrong end but lucky enough to work my way through it and now lead my own team using everything I learned in the DF, including how not to be a bully but a leader.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 9:29 PM

@Rob67: u should re read your own post.

Mute Robert Byrne
    Favourite Robert Byrne
    Nov 28th 2019, 10:15 PM

@eileen boles: I will pretend that I am utterly inept at subtlety and ask you to be a bit more specific.There is a fine line between pushing someone to the limit and bullying. A good NCO/ officer will always know the difference. I have trained people since I was 20 years old and still do to this day, I am happy to say that some of those I trained became NCO’s and in two cases, commissioned officers, I consider that some of my greatest professional achievements. My point was that the new reality in training led to a situation in some cases where Ptes were being treated with kid gloves because NCO’s were afraid to apply pressure. You need pressure to test the limits. Bullying is where an individual does not know or cares what the limit is and causes damage, that could not be allowed to continue. If you perceive that as condoning bullying, then I cannot help you in that regard.

Mute SF Knee Knockers
    Favourite SF Knee Knockers
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:14 PM

Self praise is no praise.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:23 PM

@SF Knee Knockers: it’s better than none at all

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:32 PM

@SF Knee Knockers: He is recounting his own personal experience . You just don’t recognize a good man when you see it

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 7:21 PM

@SF Knee Knockers: but nowhere has he done so

Mute Richard Barrett
    Favourite Richard Barrett
    Nov 28th 2019, 1:46 PM

If any organisation had treated me like that and then come back later to ingratiate themselves with me, I like to think I would tell them to get stuffed.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 7:28 PM

@Richard Barrett: im sure he gave it some thought & rightly so

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Nov 28th 2019, 5:36 PM

Fair play to Michael Smith, I wouldn’t have been the biggest fan but had a lot to do with helping sort the deafness claims and now this, which I was unaware of his involvement initially. Compare that to recent behaviour by ministers etc in relation to whistle blowing elsewhere in certain services. Be interesting to hear Tom’s thoughts on this now he’s gone full circle.

Mute Kieron King
    Favourite Kieron King
    Nov 28th 2019, 3:14 PM

He’s not really what one would call a whistleblower, he apparently didn’t witness these things first hand and report them, he wrote about conversations he had with the alleged victims, all of them he spoke to it appears, it begs the question ‘should women serve in the Military if they suck this shit up without aggressively resisting’? I sure as hell wouldn’t have had it nor would I have allowed it to occur to anyone in my presence when I served.

Mute DaMoons
    Favourite DaMoons
    Nov 28th 2019, 5:18 PM

@Kieron King: A bit like Julianne Assange rotting in a high security prison in England. He didnt witness the murders carried out by the US army. He reported on them and is now waiting possible extradition to the US along with possible death penalty. Whistle blowers dont need to be first hand witnesses.

Mute Kieron King
    Favourite Kieron King
    Nov 28th 2019, 5:39 PM

@DaMoons: Nowhere near the level of Assange, someone I respect, Assanges’ disclosures spoke for themselves, none of Clonans victim statements were subjected to any sort of scrutiny to ascertain their veracity, apart from his fellow academics saying it was great stuff. I won’t even begin to comment on his Lebanon memoirs.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 7:31 PM

@Kieron King: how do u know whether they “agressively resisted” or not?

Mute Kieron King
    Favourite Kieron King
    Nov 28th 2019, 8:17 PM

@eileen boles: Because I served during that period, appears to have been the best kept secret of the day, I served at home and abroad with outstanding female Officers and Enlisted Troops, most of whom would have had ripped your tongue out of your face or your arm out of your socket depending on what type of grief you were giving them. Not quite sure who he spoke with, guess I didn’t know many of them.

Mute Rob67
    Favourite Rob67
    Nov 28th 2019, 8:34 PM

@Kieron King: I have had the distinct honour of serving with some brilliant female soldiers, one of whom is now a general, she can definitely “suck it up” and can give as good back. She got there by being the best at what she did and deservedly so. In times gone by, some training NCO’s went too far, blinded by their animosity towards women in the army. Like any similar organisation, you had good and bad from both genders but some women were subjected to some of the worst kinds of bullying, which is well documented. Please remember, it happened to men too. It should not have happened but it did, the DF tried to rectify it and in some cases went too far and disrupted the balance needed to create proper military personnel.

Mute Kieron King
    Favourite Kieron King
    Nov 28th 2019, 8:58 PM

@Rob67: I agree completely Rob, most of the bullying and bullshit that went on unchecked was gender neutral, I believe his submission is seriously flawed and was endorsed by academics who in reality had no idea how the arena he was assessing operated. I feel he did a major disservice to the majority of outstanding female troops that I know who stood their ground on equal terms with their male counterparts by portraying them as hiding in the corner keeping their mouths shut little fragile things. That is not a reflection of the female troops I served with at home and abroad. But hey, it made headlines.

Mute Dino
    Favourite Dino
    Nov 29th 2019, 8:47 AM

Jesus some of the comments here be ex servicemen show that they still don’t care what went on, circle the wagons and try to discredit were the tactics used at the time to discredit this man’s work and they were that effective that they are still alive and well. One guy was saying he served with loads of women and never saw anything that wasn’t gender neutral. Well I went to mass every Sunday and served with many boys but never saw any child sexual abuse so by that man’s logic it just couldn’t have happened? Get your head our of your rears ex servicemen and show this man the respect he deserves for shining a light on the depraved conditions some female (and I’m sure male too but that wasn’t the point of hus reasearch) were forces to work in.

Mute Kieron King
    Favourite Kieron King
    Dec 1st 2019, 11:04 PM

@Dino: with respect Dino I would suggest that you are the one with your head up your arse, had Clonan done his questioning five years before women had been allowed to serve in the Defence Forces with the equivalent amount of male subjects he would have come up with the same results including the rape allegations. To suggest that everything he ‘discovered’ only applied to females in the Defence Forces is nonsense, it was how things were done long before women were allowed to serve. But hey, his one sided unsubstantiated investigation was endorsed by ‘Academics’. Jog on.

Mute Karina Molloy
    Favourite Karina Molloy
    Nov 28th 2019, 6:14 PM

So, is the Defence Forces going to say sorry to us females that endured sexual harrassment?

Mute Rob67
    Favourite Rob67
    Nov 29th 2019, 6:38 PM

@Karina Molloy: the DF hierarchy have a tendency to never apologise for past wrongs no matter who was in the wrong, sadly. Having said that that, if a wrong was committed against, you should seek redress against the individual(s) and the Dept concerned. It would be even better if a group of female soldiers, who had been harassed and abused, got together and took their cases to the courts, the evidence of an issue exists in Tom’s document and I am sure there would be evidence elsewhere within the Dept.

Mute Karina Molloy
    Favourite Karina Molloy
    Nov 28th 2019, 6:37 PM

So Tom, are you going to get the Defence Forces to apologise to all the females thhat were harassed??

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Nov 28th 2019, 7:38 PM

@Karina Molloy: all u can hope is that theyll do the right thing & set an example to society. Tom did a grt job highlighting the problem.

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Nov 29th 2019, 3:47 AM

It looks like a trip on the feminist Bandwagon. Canny move for an aspiring academic.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Dec 1st 2019, 2:18 AM

@John Lynch: u keep feeling sorry for yourself along with the rest of the delicate flowers.

Mute Karina Molloy
    Favourite Karina Molloy
    Nov 28th 2019, 6:30 PM

So, Tom, are you going to get the Defence Forces to apologise to all the females that were harassed?